Release Schedule
View Artists
View Artists
View CDs
View CDs
Rhythm, Sound & Movement - Pitch Black  
Rhythm, Sound & Movement
Play Entire CD

Territory Restrictions: Australia & New Zealand

Rhythm, Sound and Movement is a collection of remixes of tracks from Pitch Black’s Rude Mechanicals album, which, reflecting the duo’s wide ranging tastes and styles, encompasses nearly every genre of electronica and dance music there is.

The compilation kicks off with two heavily dubwise numbers from former Thomspon Twin, International Observer, and Melbourne’s deadly duo, Deep Fried Dub. England’s Mistrust adds breaks to the mix, which Fold and Horace then throw into the blender with their dubstep meets drum’n’bass reduction of Bird Soul.

Subtone gets us back on track with his techstep mix of taut beats and restrained funk, and Heavyweight Dub Champion’s Patch’s bass laden beats prepare the ground nicely for psy star Bluetech’s electro dub version of South of the Line. Neon Stereo takes us out onto the dancefloor with some tight tech house grooves and Johhny Hooves keeps us there by dropping Bukem style atmospheric drum’n’bass.

Kerretta blow the whole thing out of the water with an amazingly indescribable remix – labels like “post rock” and “shoegaze” don’t do them any justice at all, while sublime, stunning and cinematic possibly do. Poker Flat’s Simon Flower carries on this blissful theme with his floating remix, while Rob’s is more akin to drowning!

Thankfully Groove Yantra saves us from the murky depths with their upbeat world beats, and Friends Electric send us back into orbit, blending pulsating beats with a growling bassline.

All in all, a worthy addition to the Pitch Black cannon, similar to their previous remix collection, Frequencies Fall, in it’s eclectic ness, with some tracks made for the dancefloor, some for the living room, and some for the bedroom ;-) Rhythm, Sound and Movement indeed

CD Track List:  
Track Title Artist
01 1000 Mile Drift International Observer Pitch Black Play
02 Transient Transmissions Deep Fried Dub Pitch Black Play
03 Rude Mechanicals Mistrust Pitch Black Play
04 Bird Soul Fold Vs Horace Pitch Black Play
05 Bird Soul - Subtone Pitch Black Play
06 Sonic Colonic - Patch Pitch Black Play
07 South Of The Line - Bluetech Pitch Black Play
08 Harmonia - Neon Stereo Pitch Black Play
09 Please Leave Quietly Johnny Hooves Pitch Black Play
10 Bird Soul Kerretta Pitch Black Play
11 1000 Mile Drift Simon Flower Pitch Black Play
12 Harmonia Rob Pitch Black Play
13 Fragile Ladders Groove Yantra Pitch Black Play
14 Please Leave Quietly Friends Electric Pitch Black Play
Label ProfileLabel: Dubmission
Sales NotesFormat: CD
Further InformationBarcode: 9421025870897
Track ListingRelease Date: 2009-05-29
Genre: ElectronicaCatalogue Number: CDDUB013CD