Release Schedule
View Artists
View Artists
View CDs
View CDs
Desert Phase - Kaya Project  
Desert Phase
Play Entire CD

Territory Restrictions: None

Interchill presents the 4th. Kaya Project album “Desert Phase”.  Following hot on the heels of “…& So It Goes” (released in November 2008), this latest excursion into global electronica is inspired by windswept journeys through the Sonoran Desert, the Thar Desert and the Northern Sahara. For “Desert Phase” Seb Taylor and Natasha Chamberlain draw upon their personal experiences of time spent in these 3 deserts to convey the spirit of these mysterious landscapes and their inhabitants.

The album includes many of the recordings captured by Seb and Natasha in Arizona, Rajasthan and Morocco, from the desert dwelling musicians of Jaisalmer to Moroccan bazaars and atmospheric desert winds recorded amongst the sand dunes in North America. While some of the tracks reflect the timeless, haunting and spacious nature of the desert (‘When Only Sand Remains’, ‘The Fourth Age of Sand’), many are a reflection of the people that inhabit these areas and are a tribute to their resilience, optimism and joyous attitudes in a seemingly harsh and unforgiving environment (‘Desert Phase’, ‘Vijaya’, ‘The Fortress’). Other tracks are rooted in folklore and cinematic myth like the dusty desert/cowboy vibes of 'The Stranger Rolls In', 'Calico Stomp'  and 'Arizona Morning Cocoon'.

A few of the tracks were transformed by the addition of extra musicians back in London like the vocals of Shahin Badar on 'Ummah Oum' and the upright bass playing on 'Dust Devil' by Riad Abji. The Bollywood recording sessions that were part of the second Kaya Project album “Elixir” (Deepak Pandit on violin and vocals by Sabiha Khan) were also drawn upon to add a distinctive flavour to this release as well as backing vocals from both Irina Mikhailova and Deeyah - singers whose talents have graced previous Kaya Project releases. Omar Faruk Tekbilek, who appeared on the “Elixir” album also makes an appearance on Desert Phase playing ney and zourna on 'Eye Of The Storm' & '23 Towers'.

CD Track List:  
Track Title Artist
01 The Stranger Rolls In Kaya Project Play
02 Desert Phase Kaya Project Play
03 Ummah Oum (Feat Shahin Badar) Kaya Project Play
04 The Fortress Kaya Project Play
05 Desert Child Kaya Project Play
06 When Only Sand Remains Kaya Project Play
07 Dust Devil Kaya Project Play
08 Eye Of The Storm Kaya Project Play
09 Vijaya Kaya Project Play
10 Calico Stomp Kaya Project Play
11 23 Towers Kaya Project Play
12 The Fourth Age Of Sand Kaya Project Play
13 Dobro Kaya Project Play
14 Arizona Morning Cocoon Kaya Project Play
15 Sundown Kaya Project Play
Label ProfileLabel: Interchill Records
Sales NotesFormat: CD
Further InformationBarcode: 5060147125191
Track ListingRelease Date: 2010-03-19
Genre: ChilloutCatalogue Number: ICHILLCD038CD