Release Schedule
View Artists
View Artists
View CDs
View CDs
Phoenix Rising - Rovo & System 7  
Phoenix Rising
Play Entire CD

Phoenix Rising is the exciting rock/dance collaboration between Japanese band ROVO and UK ambient techno pioneers System 7.

ROVO are a popular Japanese progressive rock/jam band. They feature two drummers, funky bass and innovative keyboards and are fronted by guitarist Seiichi Yamamoto (formerly with The Boredoms) and masterful electric violinist Yuji Katsui.

System 7 is the dance music project of Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy, presenting a unique combination of tech-house beats and live musicianship, who have had a strong influence on the development of psychedelic ambient and electronica.

Phoenix Rising live is a combined show of System 7 and ROVO playing together, sometimes using the techno beats as the rhythmic basic and sometimes using the live drums, seamlessly morphing from one to the other.

The full Phoenix Rising studio album is set for UK release on September 23rd 2013, featuring original collaborations from System 7 and ROVO.  It also includes a new arrangement of Meeting of the Spirits by the Mahavishnu Orchestra – a perfect showcase for the album’s astonishing blend of guitar and electric violin.

The album moves from more techno based tracks like Love for the Phoenix, through mostly live played rock-orientated pieces and ending with the beautiful ambient composition Unseen Onsen.

A brilliant video clip for Hinotori combining live footage and amazing mang-style animation has been made by acclaimed Japanese animation team Mood Magic:- 

CD Track List:  
Track Title Artist
01 Hinotori (Album Version) Rovo & System 7 Play
02 Love For The Phoenix Rovo & System 7 Play
03 Meeting Of The Spirits Rovo & System 7 Play
04 Cisco (Phoenix Rising Version) Rovo & System 7 Play
05 Unbroken Rovo & System 7 Play
06 Sino Dub (Phoenix Rising Version) Rovo & System 7 Play
07 Unseen Onsen Rovo & System 7 Play
Label ProfileLabel: A Wave
Sales NotesFormat: CD
Further InformationBarcode: 5060016704540
Track ListingRelease Date: 2013-09-27
Genre: ElectronicaCatalogue Number: AAGWCD004CD